Kyung Hee University (KHU)

Kyung Hee University Campus

About the university

Kyung Hee University (KHU) is a private research university that was founded in 1949. Since its founding, KHU has pursued the Spirit of “Scholarship and Peace,” as well as the founding principle of “creating a civilized world.” The university is recognized for its progressive endeavours in education, research, public service, and praxis.

Today, KHU has three campuses located in Seoul, Suwon, and Gwangneung. KHU’s main campus in Seoul is located in the Hoegi neighbourhood in central Seoul, with the University of Seoul and Hankuk University of Foreign Studies located nearby, lending the neighbourhood a distinctly vibrant and youthful vibe.

Course information

Various departments offer courses in English. The English course list for each semester will be sent to students approximately one month before each semester starts. Before that, students can refer to the previous course lists on the website. The course availability is subject to change; but there will not be a big change. 3-5 courses per semester are recommended (maximum 6 courses).

Accommodation information

Students can apply for one of KHU's dormitory at the time they apply for their exchange semester. KHU’s Office of International Affairs also provides information and support in finding local accommodation.

Additional information

Academic calendar

  • Spring semester: March to June
  • Fall semester: September to December

For exact dates, visit KHU's Academic Calendar. All international students are required to participate in an orientation the week before the start of each semester.

Language of instruction

  • English
  • Korean

Areas of study

  • Humanities
  • Law
  • Politics and Economics
  • Management
  • Hotel & Tourism Management
  • Sciences
  • Human Ecology
  • General Education
  • Life Sciences
  • International Studies
  • Foreign Language & Literature